DESCOM was started July 1, 2014 to provide all emergency dispatch and 911 services to residents of Des Moines County. Prior to July 1, all dispatch duties were done by dispatchers that were civil service employees and worked for the Burlington Police Department. DESCOM is its own emergency service organization that works with and provides dispatch services to all law enforcement, medical and fire agencies in Des Moines County. We are proud to work with the men and women of these agencies, and even more proud to be able to serve the great citizens of Des Moines County.


Control Board

The control board is vested in five voting directors comprised of an appointed and elected representative of each of the following political subdivisions:

  • City of Burlington : 2 voting Directors (Currently Jim Ferneau, Tim Scott)
  • Des Moines County: 2 Voting Directors (Currently Bob Beck, Mike Johnstone)
  • City of West Burlington: 1 Voting Director (Currently Hans Trousil)


Advisory Board

The advisory board is a non-voting advisory committee of the law enforcement agencies serviced by DESCOM.  It is composed of the following:

  • Chief, Burlington Police Department
  • Chief, Burlington Fire Department
  • Chief, West Burlington Police Department
  • Sheriff, Des Moines County
  • President, Des Moines County Fire Association